DWI and DUI in Laredo, Texas

DWI and DUI Defense in Laredo, Texas

The Texas Law for DWI & DUI

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) are laws that were put in place to keep Texas drivers safe while navigating roads and highways. Due to the recent increases in offenses, law enforcers tend to take these charges very seriously. Charges resulting in convictions, especially for those who are repeat offenders can result in major penalties such as losing your liberty, driving privileges, and increased insurance rates. An overview of DWI laws is also provided as a resource by FindLaw.

Violations

In Texas, driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) higher than the legal limit (0.08%) may result in a DWI or DUI charge. Those under the legal drinking age (21 years of age) will adhere to a Zero Tolerance Law in order to avoid any alcohol charges. This means anyone under the age of 21 caught operating a motor vehicle with any trace amount of alcohol in their system is susceptible to harsh penalties.

CRIMINAL PENALTIES FOR DWI UNDER TEXAS LAW

First DWI

In Texas, the first time you are charged with DWI it is a Class B Misdemeanor. Punishment can include, but is not limited to:

  • Up to a $2,000 fine;
  • A minimum of 3 days (6 days if there is an open alcohol container) but not more than 6 months in jail; and
  • Suspended driver’s license for up to 1 year.

Second DWI

In Texas, a second DWI is a Class A misdemeanor. Punishment can include, but is not limited to:

  • Up to a $4,000 fine;
  • A minimum of 30 days but not more than 1 year in jail; and
  • Suspended driver’s license for up to 2 years.

Third or Subsequent DWI

In Texas, a third DWI is a 3rd Degree Felony. Punishment can include, but is not limited to:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine;
  • Two to ten years in prison; and
  • Suspended driver’s license for up to 2 years.

Intoxication Assault

In Texas, a DWI with an accident where serious bodily injury occurred as a proximate cause of the intoxication is called intoxication assault. Intoxication assault is a 3rd Degree Felony. Punishment can include, but is not limited to:

  • A minimum of 2 years but not more than 10 years in prison; and
  • Up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Suspended driver’s license for up to 1 year.

Intoxication Manslaughter

In Texas, a DWI where a death has occurred as a proximate cause of the intoxication is intoxication manslaughter. Intoxication manslaughter is a 2nd Degree Felony. Punishment can include, but is not limited to:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine and
  • A minimum of 2 years but not more than 20 years in prison.
  • Suspended driver’s license for up to 2 years.

DWI with Minor in Vehicle

In Texas, it is a state jail felony to operate a vehicle while intoxicated with a minor under the age of 15 in the vehicle.  Punishment may include:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine; and
  • At least 180 days, but not more than 2 years in jail.

If you would like a comprehensive explanation of DWI and DUI laws as well as other laws pertaining to alcohol consumption and possession, please visit Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.

DWI and DUI Lawyer in Laredo, Texas

If you have been arrested or charged for DWI or DUI in Laredo, Texas, we can get started on your defense immediately. It is important to seek the best defense when facing alcohol related charges. We will make sure we take immediate action on time sensitive items such as requesting an administrative license revocation hearing (ALR) which must be requested within 15 days of your arrest. Give us a call today to receive a consultation on your DWI or DUI case.

If you have been arrested or charged with a DWI or DUI in Laredo, Texas or the Webb County area, give our office a call at (956) 568-0221.